I can’t believe how long it’s been since I posted something on this blog.  The most hectic time of the year got a little more crazy for me as I took on a last minute client, not anticipating how much was involved in the matter at hand.

Then of course there was Christmas and New Year’s and a two week vacation.  No, I wasn’t lucky enough to get away from the big snow, but my daughter got a full two weeks off from school, and so today is my first day in the office since December 24.

How have you all been?  Are you busy planning for an amazing 2014?

I am.  I’ve got some big, enormous, jumbo sized plans for this year, and they’re going to change my life.

This year after 15+ years, I’m going to stop practicing law.  I just don’t have the passion for it anymore.

This decision was a long time coming.  My heart has known for a while that I wasn’t happy, but my head kept convincing me that continuing was the “right” thing to do.  (“You earned that law degree, damn it!  Now, you want to throw it all away?  What will people say?”)

Does it matter what people will say when you’re praying that the person who calls to inquire about your services doesn’t hire you?  When you drag your butt into your chair every morning to do work that makes you unhappy?

No, it does not.  I’ve got one life to live and gosh darn it I’m going to live it on my terms.  So I’m letting go of my (and everybody elses) expectations, and leaving law practice behind. (Cue the song from Frozen that Little Miss is obsessed with!)

So what will I be doing?

I’m starting a new business, of course.  One that I’ve been working on for the past 6 months.

This month I will introduce the world to Lawducate, a project that fills me with the passion that I used to feel for intellectual property.

Lawducate is Business 101 for lawyers.  Through weekly blog posts, a web show, and a 6 week course, lawyers learn the 5 fundamentals that every business must master to succeed and how they apply to law firms.  What are the 5 fundamentals?

  1. Value Creation.  Create a service that people want to buy.
  2. Marketing.  Attract attention and build demand for what you’ve created.
  3. Sales.  Turn prospective customers into paying clients.
  4. Value Delivery.  Give your clients what you’ve promised and ensure that they’re happy.
  5. Finance.  Bring in enough money to keep it going.

Lawducate is designed to help lawyers overcome their fear and doubt when it comes to marketing and selling their legal services.

I’m working on a way to incorporate the stay-at-home attorney concept into Lawducate.  I still think solos working from home trying to balance work and family need a community to support their efforts.

Until then, I’ll do my best to keep this blog going.