Tags

,

Well, summer camp is a success.

I have never seen my daughter happier or dirtier. She jumps in the car every afternoon covered in ground in dirt gushing over the new friends she is making, her swimming lessons, and the new dance she’s learning.  (Honestly, I can’t imagine how dirty she would be if she didn’t swim twice a day.)

Driving home yesterday, I half-jokingly said, “It sounds like you’re having so much fun.  I think Mommy needs to go to summer camp too.”

She laughed and said, “Mommy, you’re a grown up.  You can’t go to summer camp.”

Ouch! The truth hurts.

No, mommy can’t go to summer camp.  I have grown-up responsibilities to attend to, but that doesn’t mean I can’t have some fun this summer, and I’m hear to tell you that you should too.

You have my permission to slow things down and take some time off from your practice.  Step away from the office.  Get out of your house, and go on an adventure.

I know how turning off the computer can be a challenge when you work from home, but it’s so important to have downtime away from work.

Studies show that people who take vacations are less stressed, happier, and healthier.  You can recharge, reengage with family and friends, and think about your firm’s future.

Taking time off from work can actually help your business.  How?  Distance brings perspective.  When you’re constantly working in your business, it’s difficult to work on your business.  Taking time off gives you the opportunity to think about what’s working and what’s not.

Speaking from recent experience, I know it’s true.

Last week, my entire family descended on my parent’s house for a week of fun in the sun on Cape Cod.  While I relaxed and enjoyed spending time with my siblings and their families, I also thought about my business.

As I had conversations, with my dad (a solo marketing consultant) and my brother-in-law (a solo attorney), things started to come up.  I have some issues with my business.  I knew they were there, but I’ve been sweeping them under the rug.  Being away from the office allowed me to spend time mulling them over and deciding how I want to address them.  (All I can say is changes will be made.)

My business didn’t suffer from time away.  I think my vacation made it stronger.  I got some clarity.  I’m able to attack my business issues refreshed and reenergized.

So what fun adventures do you have planned for Summer, 2013?  Are you heading to the seashore or the mountains? (We’re doing both!)  Are you visiting relatives or taking a staycation?  Whether your adventure is far away or in your own backyard, I hope you have fun.

Don’t waste this opportunity to reconnect with family and friends this summer.  Get out of the home office!  It just might make your practice better.

What’s that old saying, “all work and no play, makes you a dull girl.”  Well, it’s true.