Happy Summer Solstice, everyone!

Newport Cliff Walk

Yes, the day you dreamt about in January is finally here.  It’s the longest day of the year, the first day of summer.

Summer is the season we get outdoors and enjoy time with family and friends.   So what do I have planned for the summer of 2013?

Along with some time on Cape Cod with my family and a long weekend in New Hampshire, this summer I will be blogging, a lot.

When it comes to blogging, one of the issues I have struggled with is consistency.  I might blog 3 times in two weeks or once in 2 months.  Not good.

So I spent the last few weeks doing something I have always known would help, but resisted up until now.  I created an editorial calendar.

Don’t ask me why I resisted.  I don’t have a good answer.  But now that I’ve done it, I feel awesome.  (I feel so awesome about it that I’m working on an editorial calendar for my other blog.)

I went old school for the task.  I took a note pad and a pen, and over the course of 2 hours, I jotted down ideas for posts for this blog.   I came up with 46 good ones, along with plans to improve and expand the website and the brand.  (Watch for some announcements this summer!)

So why am I sharing all of this with you?  It’s called accountability.

I want this to stick, and the only way for me to do that is to commit myself publicly to writing and set some expectations.

So here’s what I plan to do.

I will be posting to this blog twice a week, every Monday and Thursday starting Monday June 24.  With 46 blog ideas, I have 23 weeks of material.  I can write posts through December without having to come up with another idea.

With no more pressure to come up with a topic to write about, I can build the blog and the brand without having to continuously overcome one of the biggest hurdles to successful blogging.  That’s pretty cool, in my humble opinion.

So that’s how I intend to spend my summer vacation.  How about you?  Any big plans for your legal business?  If so, share them in the comments below.