I used to read a lot.

I spent hours traveling for work and would go through books and magazines while I sat on planes and trains all over the world.

Then I discovered Sudoku. Those little number puzzles took a bite out of my reading habit.

Having my daughter gobbled up the rest.  For the longest time, I read very little. Honestly, I’d be lucky if I finished the previous month’s InStyle Magazine before next month’s issue arrived in my mailbox.

But recently, I’ve made a commitment to get back into my reading habit.  It’s not that I didn’t read at all.  I just read a lot of what’s out there on the internet, like blogs and articles.  I discovered along my journey that I missed books, in-depth stories, and what they taught me.

So I’ve decided to make regular updates on this blog to let you know what I’m reading. It might be a book, a magazine article or maybe even a blog post that struck me. Whatever it is, I’ll be sharing it with you.

Here’s what I read in April, 2013.

As I’m pivoting my business (more on that later), I’m on a huge Seth Godin kick right now. He’s a marketing genius. His books are compact and powerful.

Working in a profession where everyone does the same thing over and over again with their marketing, it’s refreshing to have someone tell you “It doesn’t have to be this way.” Seriously if you are struggling with marketing your firm, wondering why your marketing efforts aren’t working, pick up a copy of Purple Cow. It just might save your business.

This month I read Poke the Box, his manifesto about how important it is to start something. Create something before your “ready” because you know it’s right, with no road map to guide you. Take the leap of faith. What’s the worst thing that could happen? So you fail. What matters is that you tried something.  My favorite quote:

I’m not sure Yoda was right when he said, “Do or do not, there is no try.”  Yes, there is a try.  Try is the opposite of hiding.Tribes

My second Seth Godin book of the month is Tribes. I’m only half way through, but I’ve already learned a lot about leadership, movements, and destroying the status quo. Favorite quote so far:

Whatever the status quo is, changing it gives you the opportunity to be remarkable.

What Tribes has taught me:  There isn’t a profession more into maintaining the status quo than lawyers.  In an effort to keep everything the same as it ever was, the legal industry is ignoring reality.  We’re the modern day equivalent of carriage manufacturers thinking that the automobile will never catch on.  And it has me wondering, who is going to answer the call to lead?

Lean InBook I’ll probably read next: Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg

Book I can’t wait to come out: Inferno by Dan Brown

Book that was recommended to me last week: Work the System: The Simple Mechanics of Making More and Working Less by Sam Carpenter

So what are you reading? Let me know in the comments.