Tags

,

Manual for BraveryLast week I finally finished Chris Brogan’s book It’s Not About the Tights: An Owner’s Manual for Bravery.  And I mean finally because I started it over a month ago and it’s under 100 pages and I only had 10 pages to go.

It’s a great read for anyone who is trying to be braver like me.  Mr. Brogan looks at some common obstacles that keep us from accomplishing all of the things we want to do.  Obstacles like lack of confidence, not accepting where you are in your life right now, feeling like you need permission, and not knowing how and being afraid to execute on your plans.

The author spends most of the book talking about how overcoming these obstacles lead to bravery and getting things done.

And by things he means those things that you always mean to do, but aren’t getting done.  You know those plans you have but never get around to implementing?  All those plans to write the next great American novel, start your own business, clear out the clutter, get in shape, etc.  The plans that make us better version of ourselves if only we would execute them.

Chris then shows the reader how to work through the obstacles and conquer those nagging, fearful thoughts.

And this is where my new chore chart comes in.  Take a peak at my chart here.  Kelli’s Chore Chart

In his section on execution, Mr. Brogan says:

Execution is about minimal planning and lots of check-ins.

All too often we spend all our time planning and preparing for what we’d like to do but never getting around to the execution part.  How do we avoid this?

Keep your plans a lot more realistic by living them daily.

And that’s where the chore chart comes in.  One of his suggestions is to use a calendar to track how many days in a row you do what you say you are going to do.  So that’s what I decided to do.

On my chart, I have listed out all of the things that I’ve been “planning” to do (like take my vitamins, make my bed, and meditate).  I get to check them off as I accomplish them every day.

Execution is often about bites not gulps.

You can even put big goals on your chart.  Goals that can’t be accomplished in a day, but take time, like losing weight.  You might not be able to lose 25 pounds in a day, but you could go for a 30 minute walk or drink more water, less soda, every day for the next month.

One of my goals is to clear out the clutter that is taking over my house.  But when I think about actually going through boxes in the basement or cleaning out the garage, I feel overwhelmed and I just don’t want to do it.

Well, what if I started by doing one task every day?  Go through one box or put away the toddler car seat that’s been sitting in my entry way for the past 6 weeks.  I can do that, and before you know it, all those unpacked moving boxes might actually be gone.

I just created the chart yesterday, so I have to admit that I’m very new at this, but I can definitely see where it will be a helpful tool to keep me on track.  I already love to see the Xs filling up the boxes.   I’ll have to keep you posted on my progress.

If you are having trouble getting your plans accomplished, maybe a chore chart is right for you, or if you’ve overcome inertia and accomplished some big goals, let us know how you did it in the comments.