I always find it hard to get myself going on Monday morning.

I don’t have a problem getting out of bed, but I do have a problem getting focused in the office.

After a weekend spent in “mommy” mode, it can be difficult getting back into the work flow on Monday morning.  This transition can be especially hard when you are your own boss.  No one’s there to tell you what to do, and there are so many options.  It’s tough to know where to start.  I could:

  • work on the talk I’m giving on the 23rd;
  • file a trademark application;
  • write a blog post;
  • send some emails to some prospects and referrals suggesting we do lunch;
  • tweak my website; or
  • schedule a webinar, a tweet chat, a podcast…

See the problem?

If I have no imminent due dates, then the world is my oyster.  I can work on anything.

So where do I start?

Here are a few suggestions on how I break through the inertia that can come when I’m trying to get my brain to shift gears.

1.  Check the calendar + Prioritize

calendarMonday morning is the perfect time to plan your week.

Whether it’s client work or checking off items on the to-do list, we all have work to accomplish.  It helps to start the week deciding when it is all going to get done.

“The key is not to prioritize what’s on your schedule, but to schedule your priorities.” ~ Stephen Covey

To add a layer of complexity, I usually have a full week of networking events, some appointments for my daughter, and I watch my 7 year old niece after school.  These things will disrupt the flow of my work week, if I let them.  For some of you, it might be school vacation week or another snow day that’s the impending disruption.

What this means is less time to work during normal business hours.  When I know what the disruptions are going to be, I need to plan for them too.

Here’s what to do.

  • If you don’t already have one, make a to-do list.
  • Look at the list.  Decide what needs to happen this week.
  • Schedule those items on your calendar.

You’ll be amazed at how much you can get accomplished during a chaotic week if you take a little time to schedule the work rather than just diving in.  A little planning ensures that the right items get checked off the list.  When you shut down the laptop on Friday, you can feel good about what you have accomplished.

Oh, and the calendar isn’t set in stone.  It’s a living document that can and should be changed as things happen.  Heaven knows things come up, like blizzards and snow days that are out of our control.

2.  Start writing.

If you are a blogger like me, just start writing a post.  (If you have your own firm and you’re not blogging, why not?)

Writing about your area of the law and what you’re passionate about gets the mental juices flowing.  It’s a great way to transition your brain from “mommy” mode to work mode.

How do I know?  After an extra long, snow-filled weekend hunkered down in the house entertaining my 5 year old, I kicked off this work week writing this post.

3.  Schedule Monday morning coffee with a referral source.

A warm beverage over a friendly chat is another way to ease into your work week.  Not only does it get you up and out of the house office, you start the week focused on the most important elements: what your firm does and who you do it for.

Seriously, is there any better way to start the week than with a meeting that could lead to new business for your firm?  I don’t think so.  Rainmaking is always on our agendas.  If we can do that first thing Monday morning, then our firms are better for it.

Think about this.  If you do this twice per month, that’s 24 meetings in a year!

With a busy schedule and a long to-do list, it is important not to waste a couple of hours working on the wrong activities.  The quicker you can transition into work mode, the faster things get done.

So, am I the only one who has this problem?  If you find it hard to jumpstart your work week after the weekend, what do you do to get back into the swing of things in the office?  Let us know in the comments below.